Skip to content

Worthy Wednesday

October 3, 2012

“Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” – Matthew 10:37

These are some powerful words spoken by Jesus. I read these words yesterday and I asked myself: “Do I love my children more than Jesus?” Very honestly, my answer was, I do not know. Please do not take my answer as lack of love for Christ. It is just hard to imagine loving someone more than I love my children. I am sure all parents can understand this. No matter what, Christ has called us to do that.  With this being said, why is it my relationship with my children always come before my relationship with Christ. Why do I always put taking care of my children before my time alone with God. Shouldn’t I make this time my top priority? Christ told me to, just read Matthew 10:37 again.

“Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”

Now, I am not saying you should neglect you children to spend time with God. After all, God blessed you as their parents. I think he expects you to take care of them and that should be a priority. What these words are telling me, that just as feeding, bathing, playing, educating, and loving my children at part of my day. I need to make sure, my time with God is part of my day.  He should be part of my routine.  My relationship with God should not be routine, but making time with him should be.

I have spent years attempting to wake up early and spend alone time with God. Either sleep or waiting dishes or homeschooling preparation or even the kids just waking up early tends to all interrupt this time. I kept telling myself this was the only time possible, otherwise my time with God would be washed away with daily tasks and exhaustion. Reading these words it dawned on me, that I must be putting all my daily tasks ahead of my relationship with God. If my time with God is not a priority, then does that mean I love a neat and tidy house, my children or my sleep is greater, than my love for God? Please don’t jump all over me. I know I am a mom of young kids. I know that finding time for anything is difficult. Yet, I also know that my days and life in general is much better on days, I have my time alone with God.  Even though I know this, why don’t I make this time a priority?

As they should, Jesus’ words have encouraged me. How much I love Christ has to be visibly more than my love for my children. I am sure there will be plenty of people who will think how is this possible. I am only asking that it is clear to me. Once it is clear to me, others will see it. This doesn’t mean I will neglect my children even a tiniest bit. It just means that I am making a promise to God, my children and my husband that my relationship with Christ will be number one.  How will I do this? I will continue to try to start my day with waking up early and spending my quite time with God then. I will not get irritated with myself if the dishes call my name. I will make time later in the day. This even means that quite time might simply be me reading my Bible and praying to God, while my two beautiful children are super noisy playing upstairs. Sometimes it could be as simple as reading three or four verses and thinking on them all day. Or forcing myself to stay awake after my husband goes to bed, to spend time with God.  Why is this important to me? Simply put, I want to be worthy of Christ. No, I am worthy.

Are you worthy?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

