Skip to content

One Step to a Smaller Me – Update

August 15, 2012

“Everybody is unique. Compare not yourself with anybody else lest you spoil God’s curriculum.” — Baal Shem Tov

I stared my weight loss journey back on March 10, 2012.  I praise God daily for opening my eyes to the hCG diet. This diet has worked wonders for me.  I did two full rounds and my third round, I am officially ending early.  Why?  Well, I realized I went from wanting to be a healthy weight to wanting to be a specific number on my scale.  I also realized and I super happy with my new body.  It isn’t perfect or what Hollywood would say is a good body and that is more than okay with me.  My only original goal was to lose enough weight to have more energy, to minimize or eliminate my back pain and to have a better self body image.  It have been accomplished.  When it is said and done, I really just want to be the woman God created.  This includes physically.  I believe that God wants us all to be healthy and happy with ourselves.  For each woman and man this is will be different.  I do believe, I reached my point of happiness and contentment.  I have officially lost a grand total of 37 pounds since March. I am officially about 2 pounds heavier than I was when I was married. It is crazy to think that, yet it is true.  With this being said, that means it has been 13 year since I was this weight and size. WOW!

What have I learned from dieting?  I learned it is about a choice and you have to be ready to make that choice.  I have tried over and over for years to lose weight.  At times, I was successful and other times, not.  I would complain about not being happy with my weight to no end. I had to realize I needed to make changes.  I had to accept that at 32 years old, I can not eat like I did when I was a teen or in my early to mid twenties. I mentally knew it, but I had to accept it.  This meant deciding do I want chocolate, pretzels, chips, breads, desserts or do I want to be a healthy thin and monitor my intake of my favorite foods.  For me being thinner was more important.  Which meant, I needed to learn to go without these items for a time. Now that I am on the other side, I have a new battle, maintenance.

The hCG diet works wonders, if you are up to the challenge of it. It also allows you to go back to everyday life, without much restriction. They still want you to avoid all sugar, monitor grains, eat all organic etc… type stuff.  This sounds all good, but not realistic for my family.  I will work on monitoring my grains, sugar, portions and what “junk” I allow into my body.  I will still allow myself to enjoy these things, but will a stronger monitoring system.  I hope and pray that one day this will just be natural and not a battle.  I will still monitor the scale for a long time.  Yes, this means, I will be a slave to it and I am okay with that.  For me, I am accomplishing so much more since my increased energy.  I go up our steps many times a day, I am no longer out of breath and I am bounding up them two steps at a time.  I haven’t had one back flare up since my weight loss began. This is something I noticed a while ago.   When I gain weight, I tend to have more flair ups.  When I have lost weight in the past, I would easily have no flair ups.  I look forward to having more pain-free days being a thinner me.  Just the ability to go up the steps without running out of breath and to not be as fearful of my back problems, I personally find is worth being a slave to the scale.  I know people are going to think I am crazy, but that is okay.  I know what works for me and that is all that matters.  Please do not worry, I am not going to be stuck on a specific number, I have healthy weight range, I want to stay within. I know that water, time of the month etc… all cause fluctuations in weight.  I welcome this new world and new ways to eat.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

