Skip to content

I have a confession….

July 29, 2012

It probably will surprise most people.

The confession is:

‘I AM PROBABLY THE LEAST ORGANIZED PERSON YOU KNOW.’

Yes, you read that correctly.  When I worked full-time, I was always organized at work. My house was a whole other story. I struggle to find simple things and have no patience to organize things. I have slowly been working on changing that the last year. It has been a super slow process.  I started with my basement. When I began canning, I knew I needed some space to store the food.  I really did not have a choice but to become organized there. If I wanted to save money on groceries between canning, couponing and discount grocery shopping, I had to know what I had on hand.  Saving money on groceries is huge for me. Organizing became a requirement.  Sadly everywhere else it has not become a requirement. I have been able to survive by leaving paid bills and receipts in a big pile.  My kitchen counters are always just clutter with stuff I will get too later.  Which eventually I never do, then that pile gets moved to another spot, so I can cook.  We practically live out of laundry baskets, sometimes folded sometimes not.

Recently, I started to realize that it is my fault my house isn’t organized. Now hear me out on this.  I know a lot off people do not see being a stay at home mom (SAHM) as a job.  Well I do and it is hard work.  And no I am not here to argue this topic at all.  For me personally, I see this opportunity not only a blessing and a dream come true for me, but as a job.  God created Eve as Adam’s helper. Well doesn’t that make me Mike’s helper?  What is a helpers job description? As a SAHM, I feel I should be responsible to making his home life as enjoyable as possible.  Mike works very hard to provide for his family.  I should work just as hard here at home.

What does that mean in our house?  First and foremost it means, I am responsible to raising our children and for their education.  Yes, Mike helps a bunch when he is home, I am just the one here all the time.  Next, I should tend to all task regarding making Mike’s physical income stretch as far as it can, no wasteful spending, this is a work in process all the time.  Then comes to tending to the house. In my opinion, I should be the sole person responsible for cooking, cleaning and laundry.  Is this true all the time. NOPE. Mike helps me out tremendously on this at times and this I thank him for it.  As a SAHM, I should be taking my job of making a our home life as peaceful as possible seriously.  Something I do well with at times and not so serious at times.  Does this mean my husband shouldn’t ever help me?  NO WAY!  Sometimes it is impossible to accomplish everything.  When we married, we became one.  For us this means we help each other out as needed.  He will help make supper, do laundry, take care of the kids, clean a bathroom or vacuum at times.  Just like I will mow the lawn for him from time to time.

For me personally, I need to start seeing my blessing of being at home as a job. Not just as a vacation (trust me I know it isn’t a vacation).  Time for me to stand up and get my house in order.  I plan to make Proverbs 31:10-31 my motto in life. Time to get my house organized.  Now the question is, how?  One step at a time. Since homeschooling is one month away, I will start there. I do believe I am seventy-five percent there.  I am currently refinishing a beautiful hutch to match my ideal dining room style. This hutch will be used to organize and store all our homeschooling books and supplies.  Once that is complete, I will be able to finish homeschool organization.  Next is my daily routines.

A couple of weeks ago, I stumbled upon a blog called, No Ordinary Moments that had an awesome idea for organizing daily life.  Or at least I personally think it to be awesome.  After some thought, I realized this might work for me.  In her post called  It’s ALL about Making it Fun, you can find chore cards for moms.  As I planned out new routines for the kids and started creating chore charts for them, I realized it did not have to be just for the kids.  I could use a chore charts or cards.  Over the next couple of weeks, I will be working on creating myself chore cards.  If I want to teach my children that play comes after work, it should come from me showing them, not just telling them. My goal is to instill a really strong work ethic in them.  It starts here with me.  Once my chore cards are created, I will share them with all of you.

Then where do I go next?  Once my daily routines become a better organized I will add other areas of my life to organize.  Like the huge pile of paid bills and receipts that annoys me to no ends.  I will take one task at a time using my chore cards to help guide me and keep me on track.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Ross permalink
    July 30, 2012 12:38 am

    Hey Kari, nice blog. I don’t believe that a woman can ever be satisfied with her organization of the home. I am convinced we have too much to organize to obtain perfection in our minds. However, what I do believe in, is creating a peaceful home for my husband to come home to every day.
    He does not care if my sewing supplies are tidy, or if the boys’ closets are functional, or if the kitchen cabinets are free of dust and crumbs. (although those things are always on my list of things to do…)
    In my case, he feels at peace when he walks through the door to a clean kitchen table. A tidy pile of bills and mail on the counter. A homecooked meal. Clean pajamas to wear, or a fresh razor blade to shave in the morning.
    When my husband is happy, I feel happy too. Less stress in the day. A goal in mind for the end of the day. I don’t acheive this every day, but I know our whole family thrives when we plan our organization around the moments when Dad is home. If daddy comes home to a peaceful environment, it is a positive step in the right direction for the rest of the day.

    I am often surprised at myself at work. I wash sinks, I wipe walls, refrigerators and so on. I serve a lot of peope with a smile on my face every time. I strive to bring that positive attitude home with me each day because it is easy as a stay at home mom to lose focus. But honestly, if your babies are happy, and your husband is happy, you will be happy too…amd your family is thriving.

    The sewing basket can wait.

    • July 30, 2012 4:19 pm

      Thanks Mel. I agree, we woman will never be satisfied. For me I know if I do not have organization, I will never be able to create that peaceful home Mike deserves. Items not put away correctly will not allow me to relax completely, which annoys Mike to no end. My mind will be wandering leaving my attention not on Mike when he deserves it.

Leave a Reply

