Skip to content

Long Time No Post and a thought….

June 14, 2012

Long Time No Post:

I am sorry it has been so long since I posted.  Based on the statistics, I have some regular followers.  We have been busy with family stuff and every day events, I sadly haven’t had time to blog.  I have recently decided that I need to get back to minimizing my daily schedule and to do list.  All it does is make me tired and frustrated because I never accomplish my daily plan.

A Thought:

I have always tried to not let what others think bother me, but reality is they have.  Mike has kindly reminded me many times in our marriage, that if you are happy with who you are, then what others think should not matter.  I have to admit he has it almost right.  I would like to say that if you are right with God, you will be happy with who you are and only then it will not matter what others think.  This does not mean from time to time people’s opinions will not bother you.  It just means that over a much shorter time period you will be able to heal from the hurt from other people words and opinions.  I have asked God for help in being confident in who I am as a woman, mother, wife, daughter, sister, aunt and most importantly child of God, for over a year.  I have asked for confidence not arrogance.  I still want to be humble and a woman who God would be proud of.  It is beyond time, I know who I am in Christ.  Who is this woman who God created me to be over 32 years ago in my mother’s womb? Who is this woman who God planed on creating long before my parents even knew each other?  Some people are just born with this confidence and some are not.  I have always had ideas of who I am.  I have had moments where I am really confident, it just has never lasted.  I want that to change, I want to know who I am and it to last the rest of my life.

In the last year, I have seen progress in this goal.  There has been set backs at times and when that happens they are hard, BUT each and every time, I come out much stronger. I have asked God to remove the things in my life that hinder this confidence and I have seen this happen.  Sometimes I am shocked and surprised and other times I am not.  I have learned that if I just trust in God, he will guide me in this journey.  HELLO, I knew this my entire life, yet it is a lesson I need reminded of daily.  I have been able to tackle some of the hardest battles in my life with his help. Battles I didn’t think could ever accomplish.  If you know me, I have opinions of things.  I have always been taught to speak to God open and honestly. Why is that?  Well that is because God knows everything.  So, why bother not talking to him about it. If you are angry (even at him), sad, happy, joyful, or hurting express it.  Just remember, he is the creator and the almighty, so be respectful and honest.  I know the type or woman, mother, wife, daughter, sister, aunt and child of God I would like to be.  If God knows my thoughts, feelings and ideas already, why hide them from him?  Over a year ago, I started asking God to form me into this woman assuming, it is part of his plan.  I have accomplished one year of homeschooling, learning to can, expanded our garden, loss 30 pounds, built a stronger marriage and my list could go on and on.  I still have many miles to go.

What is next?  Another season of canning, another year of schooling, a summer of fun, a life time of building more memories and many more things.  I find it awesome how God has given me the ability and desire to learn and grown along side my children.  One small example is, I used hate school.  My favorite three subjects where gym, math and history, in that order.  The rest didn’t matter to me, I did only what I could to pass the classes.  This was truly to my parents dismay.  Even with this, I have managed to excel in the corporate world, with no college degree or any more training than on the job training.  Even with this being said, I have been beyond happy with our decision for me to be a stay at home and homeschooling mom.  I have discovered that the challenge of being a mom and teacher have been the hardest and most important job I have ever had.  When you become a mom, everything you do is analysed and important.  This does not mean I need to be perfect in everything I do.  All it means is I need to learn from my mistakes, be willing to grow and teach my children how to recover from the mistakes.  During this past school year I have discovered that teaching is difficult.  (not that I ever doubted it)  I know that with God’s help we can accomplish anything as a family. Mike was an amazing support and teacher for when I was being challenged and battling difficult times.  Between Mike, awesome curriculum choices, other homeschooling moms, our families, God and myself, I know our homeschooling adventure will be beneficial for the four of us.

Well, it is 12:30 am, I really should go to bed and get my rest. My little boy is sick right now, and I have no idea how my night or tomorrow will go.  I will do my best to follow-up with my promised upcoming post on “How to Save Money on Meat (chicken) and One Step At a Time to a Small Me Update.  I also have many other ideas, opinions and thoughts I will be posting soon. Then before you know it, it will be time to post homeschooling information.  I will also be revamping areas of my blog, changing categories around, changing the look (maybe). It will take some time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 14, 2012 4:05 pm

    I know this is Father’s Day weekend, however- you have blessed me over and over again as I read your post. It has always been an honor to be your mom and it’s exciting to hear your heart for the Lord and your family. I’ll be printing this one out! I consider it a ‘stone of remembrance’ as written about in the Old Testament. Something to remind us over the years to come. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again- YOU ARE AN AMAZING WOMAN OF GOD AND I AM VERY PROUD OF YOU! This is evident in your love for your husband, your children, others and your parents. Thank you for this powerful blessing! I love you!!

Leave a Reply

