Skip to content

2012 Goals Update

February 8, 2012

Since it has been a month since I posted my 2012 Goals, I thought it would be a good idea to check my progress.  I am super happy to report I have done very well with my goals.  There is some bumps along the way but over all I am making awesome progress.  Here is my update and I am adding one new goal.

  • Wake up Monday through Friday at 6 am – I was doing really well on this, but then got sick last week.  Now I am struggling to get out of bed at 7:30.  I am planing to change this starting tomorrow.  I am back to my old self and I honestly have no more excuses.
  • Plan meals more often. –  I have done really good on this too.  We are not eating out as much and there is a lot less last-minute “whats for supper?” nights.  I usually think in the morning of something for supper and then get the meat out and at that point it is set in stone!  I still have more progress to make on this, but we are headed in the right direction.
  • Tighten my Grocery budget from $75 to $60 a week. – I have done pretty good on this as well.  I have had a week or two where I haven’t even grocery shopped for anything except milk, bread and lunch meat, then those weeks put me really under my budget.  There there are weeks, I am over my budget by $20.  Overall I am averaging $60/week or less.  So I am happy.  I will be continuing to work on this as the year progresses.
  • Read 5 books this year. – This is the one I am excelling at.  I can’t believe it.  I am not normally a reader but so far I have finished three books and half way through my fourth.  Once I accomplish this goal, I will add a new goal for reading.  I even have 2 more books lined up and hoping to add some more that will help me be surprised about how many books I have read this year.  I am going to create a page on my blog here with the books I have read for anyone who might be interested.
  • Quilt more. –  This is one goal I am not doing very well with yet.  I did start a table runner but the table runner is giving me all sorts of trouble.  Not sure why, I am having all this trouble.  So I decided I needed a break, then we started remodeling the house and well, quilting is currently on hold for a bit.  I am hoping to get back to it soon.
  • Simplify my life. –  This is happening very slowly.  I started by figuring out which Pampered Chef Stones I actually use and do not use.  The ones I do not use I have trying to sell.  I am shocked that they are not selling, but hopefully soon. I am hoping this weekend to find time to go through my kitchen drawers and get rid of some of the items I no longer use or never used.

As I mentioned I would be adding a new goal.  I have been trying hard to not add this goal, but honestly I need to do something.  My son will be 4 years old this April and I am only now realizing I have allowed myself to be 22 pounds heavier than I was prior to being pregnant with him for the last 3.75 years.  I am still 20 pounds lighter than I was at my heaviest (not including his pregnancy), but I haven’t been happy with the way I look and feel.  I have noticed I tend to have more back issues than I did when I was 20 pounds lighter.  So my new goal is to loose the 20 pounds by the end of 2012.  Let me be clear this is not my goal weight, it is my baby step goal weight.  I also want to be very clear I have a healthy goal weight.  As much as I would love to be thin like a model, I do know that is not realistic or honestly healthy.  I am also setting this goal time limit for the end of the year because I want to lose the weight correct and in a way it will stay off.  Yes it would be great to lose it sooner, but I know my body and if I lose it quickly it will come back on as fast as I lost it.  I am hoping to start the diet plan I did to lose the 60 pounds after I had my daughter 5.5 years ago.  It is a simple plan about learning to eat right.  It causes you to put your focus on God and how eating correctly you will find God’s ideal weight for you.  I will track my progress every Wednesday morning on a new page of blog.  I know I can do this, I just need to stay motivated.  If I do not update every Wednesday I am sorry, but I will do my best to stay on top of this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

