Skip to content

Bacon Wrapped Chicken

February 6, 2012

I give this recipe a big thumbs up, but my kids and husband said thumbs down.  Now you have to understand my husband doesn’t like chicken at all, yet will eat it to keep me happy.  he did say he would eat it again in the future, so it couldn’t be that bad right?  The kids, I think they said thumbs down because it was new, not because they really didn’t like it.  I would recommend for others to try it.

It was very easy to make and me personally say it is YUM-O!!!  A friend pinned this recipe on Pinterest and I re-pined it.  The original recipe can be found at BlogChef.net  Here is the recipe:

Bacon Wrapped Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 12 boneless skinless chicken breasts halves
  • 2 (8 oz) cartons chives and onion cream cheese
  • 12 slices of bacon
  • salt (to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. The original recipe called for using a mallet to thin your chicken.  I just cut my chicken breast thin since I did not have a mallet and it saved money on the chicken breast.
  3.  Spread 3 tablespoons of cream cheese over each chicken breast.
  4. Then Dot with butter and season with salt.  (I forgot this step, and it was good without it, so save yourself some calories)
  5. Wrap with bacon and stick a toothpick through the rolled chicken breast to hold it together.
  6. Bake uncovered for 35-40 minutes (or until juices run clear).
  7. Turn on the broiler and broil six inches from the heat for 5 minutes or until the bacon is crispy.

NOTES:  I did find this recipe a bit expensive to make if you have to buy all the ingredients to make it.  Yes believe it or not Ms. Stockpile here was out of chicken and bacon.  But thankfully I did figure a way to save once I was home making the recipe.  I decided instead of using 12 chicken breast and beating them thing,  cutting them all thin gave me 2-3 thinned breast per breast. I would say I was able to use half the chicken  this way.  I also only used half the cream cheese they called for and found it to be enough.  If you are budget concerned like with groceries, remember you can find a way to save on almost all recipes without cutting quality or flavor etc…. Just be creative.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

