Skip to content

I am back and 2012 goals

January 16, 2012

Well I am back, sorry for such a long break and no my hand did not take this long to recover.  It has been overly crazy here.  I had several things to adjust to and I will talk about that more in the near future.  I still can not promise that I will post daily, but will attempt to post a couple of times a week.  Lets start the new year with GOALS for 2012.

 

I know it is January 16th and I am not only posting my goals for 2012.  I had every intention to post this on the first but my family has been sick and they take priority.

I want to start my new blog with posting my 2012 Goals.  Yes goals not resolutions and I mean smart goals.  Whats the difference between a goal and a smart goal.  The answer is simple, you can make any goal in the world you want, yet a smart goal is: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-bound.

Why do I set goals?  I believe goals can help you grow as a person.  I personally have lots or room for growth as a child of God, Woman, Wife and Mother.

This year I decided to set 6 goals.  I used to set more and found the longer the list the harder it was to meet them and that discouraged me.  My goals this year I feel are reachable and my time limit on them will be December 31st, 2012.

Goals:

  • Wake up Monday through Friday at 6 am, 90% of the year.  – my reason for this is, I find that if I can accomplish certain things prior to my children waking, our day goes so much better.  Why just Monday through Friday? I know that I am not a morning person and even though I would love to be up at 6 am seven days a week, I know I will not be able to reach that goal.  Five days a week is a goal I am aiming for.
  • Plan meals more often. – This is something I struggle with.  It never fails at least once a week, 4 pm arrives and my brain goes, oh crap what is for supper.   Then I go into brain freeze and well, we end up eating out or ordering in, which then hits the budget etc… It becomes this domino effect on us.
  • Tighten my Grocery budget from $75 to $60 a week. – Yes you read that right.  I currently feed a family of 4 on $75 a week and I aim to make it $60 a week.  $20 of which I plan to use to stock pile my cabinets.   Which really means I plan to spend only $40 a week on groceries.  With coupons it can be done, just needs discipline and habit (and a menu plan).
  • Read 5 books this year. (not including the kids books for homeschooling, either)  – I have never been a huge reader, but this last year I have really enjoyed reading.  I hope to read more and more over the next couple of years.
  • Quilt more.  – I love quilting, but never allow myself time to do it.  This year I have a few projects in mind, I plan to make the time.
  • Simplify my life. – In 2011 I discovered I think half my problem with getting to do what I want to do is because we have too much stuff and it gets in the way of things.  So I am going to start with my kitchen.  I am slowly going to start eliminating things.  I have way more things in this kitchen then I really ever need.  I hope to make some money off some them for me to buy replacement items for some items that desperately need replaced.  Which when those items are replaced I will have to throw away.

Well that is my goals for 2012.  I know I can reach them, the time to start is now.


Leave a Reply

