Skip to content

Homemade Instant Oatmeal Packs

July 16, 2011

It is officially a hit in our house!  I was able to get a really good deal on Quaker Old Fashioned Oatmeal at Amelia’s a while back.  Ten pounds for $5.99.  I knew I would use it for baking or just even oatmeal, but I had a special project in mind.  I has seen on Money Saving Mom she made homemade instant oatmeal packs and thought that is a great idea.  Not only can it bea cost savings, it can be customized and fun to make.

I personally eat Maple Brown Sugar or Cinnamon Bun instant oatmeal and that is it.  I decided I needed to find a recipe different then Money Saving Mom’s since it did not have the flavoring I desired.  I searched for a couple of days off and on and stumbled upon Coffee Break with Liz & Kate.  They have a great recipe for Cinnamon Brown Sugar and others types.  I was happy since I had all the ingredients already and I didn’t have to buy anything to try it.

Since I did not have the quick oats I got my handy-dandy food processor out and chopped my regular oatmeal up a little to make quick oats. (see here for the difference in oats).  Once that was complete it was simple as following Coffee Break with Liz & Kate recipe.

I did change the recipe up a little after making one bowl to taste.  Their recipe is good but I wanted a little more brown sugar taste.  Here is my recipe.

Instant Cinnamon Brown Sugar Oatmeal Packs

  • 10 cups Quick Oats
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 4 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1.5 cups Granulated Sugar
  • 1.5-1.75 cups of Brown Sugar
  1. Blend 3 cups of Quick Oats until powdery (1/2 cup at a time in food processor or blender)
  2. Mix the processed Oats and 7 cups of quick oats in a bowl
  3. Add Salt, Cinnamon, Sugar and Brown Sugar with oats
  4. Mix well. (I found a pastry blender and my clean hands worked well.)
  5. Put 1/2 cup of mixture in snack size bags, remove all air and seal.
I got 22 individual packs (including the 3 servings the kiddos and I ate for lunch) out of this recipe.  Next time I will make a double batch.  In the winter I might triple the batch.

To make the oatmeal:

  • One Bag worth of Instant Oatmeal
  • 2/3-3/4 cup Water
  1. Mix together
  2. Microwave on high for 1 minute (adjust for your microwave)
  3. Enjoy
Lessons I learned:  Though the Old Fashion Oats can be turned into quick oats, I would not do it again unless I get an amazing deal on them again.  It was not difficult but it did add time to my process, yet I did not even use 5 pounds of the oats.  I am guessing I used about 3 pounds of the old fashion oats to make this recipe.  Which means for $5.99 I will have more than enough to make 66 packs of oats, that is $0.09 each plus other ingredients.  I say it was a good deal financially and worth my time.
Ideas: I was thinking this could make an inexpensive Christmas gift too.  Instead of baggies you could put in jars and give as a simple inexpensive Christmas gift.
I hope you enjoy it and find the benefits of knowing what is in your food as much as we do.
_________________
By the way, I have been paying with camera options on my new phone.  Please let me know what you think.  
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 6:18 pm

    This is a great idea!… 🙂 And definitely much more economical to make your own instant oatmeal packs. I’m not much of an oatmeal fan but these do help when you need a quick breakfast. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Drastic Measures Update « Family Rooted

Leave a Reply

