Skip to content

Cleaning

July 10, 2011


That is about how I feel regarding cleaning.  I hate it, but it is necessary.  I truly love a clean house and if I could afford to pay someone to do it I would.  Since I can not, I need to do it.  I am going to attempt to come up with a better routine.  I have done this in the past and never have been real successful at sticking to one.  I feel I was trying to clean all the time or I had a schedule that was too strict. I am just plain tired of rushing around on a Saturday morning to clean, which is my current routine.

The question is how to set a schedule we will stick too.  I guess I should start with the basics to survive.  Dishes and laundry, funny thing is they are the number 2 and 3 on my top house chores I hate.  Number one being cleaning bathrooms.  The last couple of weeks I have been doing good at getting up early and doing the dishes every morning and maybe again later that day.  Yet for the most part, I let them sit in the sink and tackle them in the morning.  On the new daily to do list I have added do dishes throughout the day, a load of laundry first thing in the morning and again over nap time.  Simple enough, I think I can tackle that.

Next on the list the non-essentials to most, yet with three dogs they are more essential to us.  Sweeping the kitchen and living room areas.  This will have to become a daily to every two-day occurrence.  If I wait until Saturday or even pick up that broom during the week, we seem to have enough dog hair to make a fourth dog.  Which means I am sure the same thing is happening in the living room but with a vacuum that had a bag it is hard to tell.  This then lead me to buy a bag-less vacuum.  After the first and second use, I was mortified how my old vacuum was not getting everything.  I am glad we got an amazing deal on a new one.  This has led me to believe I need to vacuum at least three days a week if not more.  I will regulate this over as I see how full my vacuum gets.  Which means this is now part of the basics to survive.

The dreaded bathrooms…. oh what to do with them.  Considering I have two boys in the house with semi-good aim I probably should clean them a little more often.  I am usually grossed out when I see what is under the seat.  I am hoping to at least do a wipe down on Wednesday and really good cleaning on Saturday.  The rest of the cleaning like mopping and dusting will happen on Saturday still.

I am just hoping that this is a maintainable schedule.  I feel it isn’t to overwhelming or crazy for a woman who truly dislikes cleaning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 1:51 am

    i dont clean nearly enough either but my kids LOVE helping vacuum, maybe yours could, too. I do ALL the laundry wednesday. Usually 4 loads. As for dishes, I do them after every meal…if not they pile up ever so quickly, its amzing how many dished accumulate when you dont go off to a job and have the kids snacking all day!!! best wishes with a schedule!!! I still say get the kids involved, life lessons and less work for you, or at least more time to focus on necessary things!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

