Skip to content

Drastic Measures Makes Big Changes…

July 5, 2011

Every Wednesday evening we attend Bible Study at our friends house.  Our Bible study group which consists of 8 to 10 people on a regular basis has become very important for us to deepen our faith.  For the last couple of months we have been studying the Foundations by Tom Holladay and Kay Warren.  There are several books in the series all only been four sessions each.  The last four weeks we have been studying the book on Good and Evil.

This book has been amazing in opening our eyes to how they both effect this world and what we can do to possibly overcome evil.  This past week we talked about how to break a bad habit that binds you drastic measures may need to take place.  In Matthew 5:29 (NET) it says  ‘If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away! It is better to lose one of your members than to have your whole body thrown into hell.’  Matthew 5:30 (NET) it says  ‘If your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away! It is better to lose one of your members than to have your whole body go into hell.’  Drastic right, but it is better to remove what temps you or what causes you to sin completely so the temptation is no longer there.  Though I do agree with drastic measures, I do not recommend those to sin with their eyes or hands etc to remove them.  Yet I do believe you need to completely removed your self from those situations.

Which leaves you probably wondering what drastic measures Family Rooted will be taking.

First will be staying home a lot more during the week.  I have always wanted to be a stay at home mom and I have been blessed with the opportunity to stay at home part-time and raise my children, but I do work two days a week outside the home.  Lately it seems my days off I am always going and going.  Being on the road all the time I am not truly spending the time with my kids I would like to.  Needless to say I will start being at home more often.  How will I accomplish this?  Here is my weekly schedule.  I normally work Monday’s and Thursdays, which leaves Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.  Pay day is Friday here, which makes this the best day to do my groceries and drug store shopping.  Which means Tuesday and Wednesdays I will be staying home at this point, no more trips with the kids to stores and minimal activities outside the home.  There is so much we can do here at home.  Not to mention it probably a good thing to get used to since this fall Alaina starts kindergarten through PA Leadership Charter School and Thomas needing to begin homeschooling preschool.  We will have to be home and on a better daily schedule.

Second a better daily routine with cleaning, cooking, homesteading, schooling and plainly just having fun family time.  This will mean more quality family.  To do this means I need to be up at the same time daily.  The last couple weeks I found waking at 6:00 or 6:30 am works well.  This allows me to make sure the kitchen is clean and ready for the day, make my coffee and have a cup or two, daily Bible reading and prayer, at least one load of laundry in the washer if not two and some blog time before the kiddos awake.

Third minimize television.  Most of you know we do not have regular TV but do have Netflix.  We have enjoyed the switch and the financial savings, but we have found that it is easy just to put the TV on for the kids, especially since Alaina knows how to work the remotes.

Fourth blog more regularly.  I can not promise I will blog daily or every day I do not work out side the home.  My goal is to blog the days I am home, so please check regularly for updates.  I feel this will allow me to have my personal time and hopefully give me reminders about why I am taking these drastic measures.

Fifth cook at home more and eat out only once every two weeks.  We have been eating out a lot again and that hits us financially.  I recently read an article on how Dirty Dishes Causes Debt on one of my new favorite blogs Living on a Dime.  I found this article so true.  I highly recommend you read it.  I am hoping to start this weekend with freezer cooking, that is assuming I can get my freezers cleaned out and organized.

Sixth is to make more and more from scratch.  I not the long ago found a recipe to make homemade instant oatmeal packages.  Then not long after that I found an amazing deal at Amelia’s Grocery Outlet on Quaker Oats.  I found 10 pounds for $5.99.  I do have to process it to make it the quick oats, but that is simple with a blender.  This is just one of the many things I plan to do to save us money on groceries, provide a healthier menu and simplify our life.  This includes canning and freezing food.

Seventh is to focus more on education and crafts here with the kids.  My kids love to learn and lately I have been lacking on getting the workbooks out.  Maybe it is the summer thing but still need to do it more.  They also practically beg to do crafts and since we are always on the go we never get to do them.  If we are home more than we will be able to do these more.

Eighth is continue to find ways to improve our life and expand this list.  Simplify our lives and we will gain so much, or so I am told.  I am sold on the idea and I will try to keep you posted on how that goes.

I hope you will follow me along as I make these changes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:57 pm

    Just wondering why it is important to blog? Is it a way to make extra income? Just curious.

    • September 24, 2011 2:12 am

      For me blogging is a social out. I spend so much time at home it is nice to have some where to just vocalize the thoughts in my head. I do not make money blogging at this time. Maybe one day.

  2. Cheryl permalink
    September 30, 2011 12:28 am

    I too have read several places about making instant oatmeal packets at home. I’m afraid I just don’t get it. I get up in the morning, put 1/3 cup oats and 2/3 cup water in a bowl and sometimes add flavoring, put in the microwave for the length of time reommended on the package and my daughter has home cooked oats in a couple of minutes without using a bunch of little plastic bags or grinding up the oats to make them finer. Not criticizing, I just don’t get it, that’s all.

    • October 1, 2011 12:05 pm

      For us it is called convience. It is a lot easier to grab little bags to through in the babysitters bag for the kids or a lunch bag for work. None of use eat before we leave in the morning. I also found it controls the flavoring a little more. Now that my daughter is 5 she is more independent and she should be able to start fending for herself and this would become one of the goings she can do on her own.

    • October 1, 2011 12:07 pm

      Also I did mention in my original post about instant oatmeal packs if I bought the quick oats I would not have to grind or chop them at all. But due to a good sale at a discount grocery store I purchased regular cooking oats, which required chopping or grinding foe instant oatmeal.

Trackbacks

  1. Drastic Measures Update « Family Rooted

Leave a Reply

