Skip to content

It’s all about Thomas today!

April 29, 2011

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days
ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
Psalm 139:13-16

How powerful are those words!  Knowing that our Heavenly father takes the time to knit us together.  Not to mention that he knows everything before we are even born.  As I reflect on the fact that three years ago I gave birth to a very beautiful baby boy, I am deeply moved to think that my son was completely created for just Mike and I.  Not like being a mom isn’t enough pressure, but to know that God choose us for this specific creation we call Thomas.

At exactly 4:42 pm on April 29, 2008, Thomas Owen finally arrived at a whopping 9 pounds 13.5 ounce and 22.25″ long.  Yes you read that right he was only 2.5 ounces from being a full 10 pounds.  And well his delivery was difficult for me, but then again nothing has been easy about Thomas with the exception of loving him.

When we found out we where pregnant we had some major mixed emotions.  Our first reaction was complete shock since our daughter was barely 11 months old and it took 19 months and a single round of infertility drugs to have her.  Oh yeah and the fact I was taking birth control pills might have caused some of the shock.  Then fear came, at this point we were barely surviving with one financially and to be honest our marriage was on the rocks due to finances.  Then came laughter and the exact thought ‘God you have already proven to me you have a sense a humor, did you seriously have to remind me?’.  Lastly amazing joy filled our hearts.  That joy is what brought us through the rough patch in our marriage and put us where we are today.

My pregnancy with Thomas was much harder on me than our daughter’s pregnancy was.  With Alaina I pretty much kept up with my entire life and nothing really changed, except my belly.  With Thom’s pregnancy was full of exhaustion, heartburn, cravings of buffalo hot wings (I would eat them at least once a day, hence the heartburn), uncomfortableness, heat flashes etc…

Then came the labor!!!  I know others have stories or labor that was harder than mine, but for me his labor was difficult!  For the last month of my pregnancy I was begging to be induced.  I was so uncomfortable and ready to meet him.  As any good doctor would do they said no.  Finally they agreed if I made it to the Tuesday before my due date I would be induced.  During my last doctor appointment we schedule my induction and my doctor predicted Thomas would be a smaller side of average baby, in the high six to low seven pound range.

Eviction day (the Tuesday before my due date) came and Mike and I went to the hospital.  My two best friends arrived a little after my water was broken.  About 2 hours later and finding out I was still only 2 cm dilated, I was a bit irritated and experiencing back pain, to only realize it was back labor.  Back labor was a big fear of mine since I have a bad lower back to begin with.  I do not do well with pain in my lower back, I seriously get sever sharp pains that stop you in your track when my back is messed up.  I spent the next 30 minutes convincing my nurses that I seriously wanted my epidural, since I knew the pain I was in and what would be ahead.

Receiving my epidural at only 2 cm was a little disappointing for me since I made it to 6.5 cm with Lani and at that point wasn’t in any serve pain (more info on why I got it then on her birthday).  I was really hoping to make it to at least 6.5 cm if not all the way with Thomas.  Yet I knew what pain I would go through with back labor and I was already feeling some of it.  I do not regret my decision, but I was disappointed.

After hours of resting comfortably it was time to push.  I thought this will go fairly quickly, it only took 56 minutes to push Alaina out and she was my first.  Not to mention Thomas was supposed to be about at least 1 pounds smaller. ( Looking back I can see God sitting on his throne laughing at my thought.)  After 1 hour or 3 ten second pushes per contraction  I found myself exhausted and with little progress.  Our doctor informed me that we only have a little more time before we will either use the vacuum or have a c-section.  At this time I was begging for the c-section, I was beyond exhausted.

Thirty minutes later the doctor decided to use the vacuum much to my tired bodies disappointment.  She then said you have 15 minutes and if he is still not here, you will be in the OR, which is already prepped and ready.  Praise God 12 minutes later our BIG cone headed baby boy arrived!  The first words from everyone’s mouth was WOW!  He is Huge!  Clearly not a high six to low seven pound baby.

As they where cleaning up Thomas they where making bets on his weight.  I remember saying I bet he is around 10 pounds and no on agreed, they all though high eight to low nines.  Well momma was right!

Thomas was born with blondish hair and blue eyes.  I was so blessed to have my little blonde hair, blue eye chubby baby!  For some reason I always wanted one of those and God granted my wish, but he did make me work for it though.

The second best part of this story is the fact the day after delivery my doctor actually apologized to me for not believing I was so uncomfortable.  She said I really had no clue he was that big and if she did I would have been induced a week or two earlier.

Thomas has grown a lot in the last 3 years and every day can be a challenge and a blessing with him, but I would not trade one second I have with him, the good and the bad.  Thomas is our little loving comedian.  He knows how to show his love to us in all sorts of ways and he loves to make us laugh.  As he is getting older we see how much more and more he is looking like his daddy.  Our little blonde hair blue eye baby is now a brown hair, green eye boy!

Below are some pictures from Thomas’s life.  Please click on them to enlarge them.

Don’t wait to make your son a great man – make him a great boy.  ~Author Unknown

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

