Skip to content

Our Faith in God…

April 28, 2011

I know when I sit down and read a blog or book by a Christian author I like to know what their beliefs are to make sure I am reading things that will deepen my faith.  We are fully aware that our beliefs will not match 100% to another persons and that each of our beliefs in God will not be exactly accurate.  With that being said that is why our family feels it is important to attend a faith-based bible teaching church, a weekly bible study and spend time in the word of God.  This will allow us to grow in our Faith and beliefs in God as our goal is to have a perfect faith and beliefs.  This goal will not be obtainable since only Jesus is perfect, yet it is a very important goal and should be reached for it no mater what.

Let me start with the simple version (doesn’t mean short) for today and I will add more detail later.  Lets start with what is the definition of Faith.  According to the Dictionary Faith has nine definitions.  The very first definition is: ‘Confidence or trust in a person or thing’.  That is true but when I am talking about Faith in God I really prefer the Bible’s definition which can be found in Hebrews 11.  This entire chapter is devoted to Faith in God.

Verse one of Hebrews 11 is what I believe is the most appropriate definition of Faith and my favorite Bible verse.  ‘ Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see’.  How much more clear can you get than that.  I have no doubt in my Heavenly Father and all that he has done, is doing and will do.  Maybe being raise in a Christian household made this much easier for me than some, yet to me I just can’t imagining doubting that there is a God and that he does all thing for good for those who believe. (Romans 8:28)

Okay so we have Faith in God, but so does a lot of people.  What is it that we believe?  Based upon my last paragraph we believe there is a God.  We believe that God is the creator of all (Genesis 1) and that he is all-powerful.  We believe in the Trinity of God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.

We believe that God sent his only son to this sinful earth to live a sinless life yet die on a cross for my sins 2000 years ago (John 3:16).  We believe once you have accepted Jesus Christ into your life you have secured eternity in Heaven and all your sins have been wiped away no matter what you have done.  Assuming you have truly asked forgiveness for them. (2 Timothy 1:9). Through this you will be truly free and no longer imprisoned by your sins.  Death will then only be become the beginning and not an end of your life.

We believe it is not God’s will for even one of his creation to perish and yet gives us free will to make decisions in our life. (Matthew 18:14).  While all along God knows every decision we will ever make before we where even created.  This also means that every life is precious.  (Psalm 139:13)

We believe that the Holy Bible is everything we need to know about God, it is the TRUTH and direct word of God written by specific people God had chosen.

We believe in Heaven and Hell.  We believe that Satan is a powerful being (not as powerful as God) and seeks destruction in your life, yet God can save you if you so choose.  We also believe in real spiritual warfare between God and Satan.  Yet with God you can withstand all evil, no matter the battle.

We also believe that Jesus will come again, yet Jesus doesn’t even know when that will be, only God does.  (Matthew 24:36)

I will end here today since I could continue on and on.  Some things we believe will be kept personal, yet I do believe that the above is a pretty clear picture of our Faith in God.  As I mentioned above, I am well aware that not everyone will believe what we believe and we will not believe everything someone does.  That is okay since no one is perfect.  I am not saying you are wrong and we are right.  I am saying we all have the ability to be misguided in our beliefs, this is why it is important that we pray, spend time in the Word of God and have a personal relationship with our Heavenly Father.  When this is done we will become closer to God and closer to a perfect Faith and beliefs in God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

